With Malice By Eileen Cook | Book Review

b831669393b68d4ff5fc0bc62e7fd035

Hello, my bookish friends. I hope you’re doing great. To be honest, I haven’t read that much in June, because life has just been crazy busy. But I managed to read With Malice, which was so addicting and intense. Once I started it, I just couldn’t put the book down and sleep. It really exceeded my expectations. So, let’s review this book!

Simon and Jill have been friends since forever. Jill is shy, smart, and really wants to study law in college when she graduates from high school. On the other hand, Simon likes to party too much sometimes, and she doesn’t care about her education at all. So, when Jill and Simon go on a road trip to Italy with their school, their friendship starts to fall apart. One day, Jill and Simon fight about a boy they met there, then a couple of weeks later, Jill wakes up and finds herself in the hospital. Not knowing why she is there, or what happened at all. The truth is that there was an accident and Simon was dead, but Jill was in a coma and she woke up with no memory of the previous six weeks. However, as soon as she wakes up, the investigations begin, because everyone believes that Jill killed Simon out of jealousy.

This book reminds me a lot of The Girl On The Train. The plot is kind of similar, but in a different way. It’s also twisted, because while you’re reading you keep asking yourself who’s right and who’s wrong, and you begin suspecting Jill and then someone else. This book kept me guessing. I knew something was weird about Simon, I just didn’t feel comfortable about her character and how she treated Jill. Also, everyone thinks that Jill is spoiled and has it all, because her father is rich. But, in reality, she doesn’t. Which I think lots of people can relate to that. Everything not always what it seems, and sometimes people misjudge you. I liked her mother, but her father was really irritable. This book also shows a difference between a toxic friendship and a healthy one. Simon forced Jill to do things she didn’t feel comfortable about, just like she was her follower and she’s got to obey her. But, when Jill met Anna in the hospital, she felt it was easy to open up to her and tell her about so many things. I also like how Jill is a feminist and she has a blog about important feminism issues, which is really impressive. At the end of my review, I would totally recommend it if you want to read a fast paced thriller book.

Leave a Reply

