A World Without You By Beth Revis | Book Review

3982c573787be8a77884c2eab06cfc68

“I guess when someone’s gone from your life for a while, all you think about are the big things. The big regrets, the could-have, should-haves. Or the big moments, the memories that are going to be with you forever, those life-changing moments, like first kisses and first confessions and first trusts. And you think about the lasts too: the last kiss, the last words, the last moments.”

Hello, my bookish friends. I hope you’re doing great. Last week I finished reading A World Without You, and I’m still not feeling okay. Before I started reading the book, I thought it was a science fiction book about time traveling and protecting history, but I was wrong. I haven’t read a book in three days, because I’m still having a book hangover, and my mind is still stuck in that world. So, let’s start our review!

This book is about a boy named Bo. When his parents send him to the Berkshire academy for troubled kids, Bo thinks that he is a time traveler, and this academy is for kids with special powers. When Sofia the girl he fell in love with dies, Bo is certain that she is stuck somewhere in the time stream, and he has to travel to the past and bring her back. But in fact, this academy is for kids who have mental illness, and Bo suffers from a dissociative disorder, which makes him lose touch with his reality, and live in the world he’s created inside his head. And Sofie isn’t actually stuck in time, she suffers from depression, and she committed suicide. However, throughout the book, we follow the recovering journey of Bo, and how he struggles with himself to understand what’s going on inside his head.

The story is told through Bo, and his sister Phobe’s point of view. I think Phobe’s point of view made sense of everything in the book. Even in the last pages she told us about Bo’s first Psychosis episode when they were playing together as kids long time ago. I really sympathized with Phobe, because she’s the perfect daughter who has everything figured out, and no one ever expects anything bad from her. Unlike Bo, who’s the exact opposite of her. Her parents attention is focused on Bo and his health, and she felt like they neglected her. She felt ignored, and her dreams were just dreams that won’t ever come true, because all of her parents money was for covering Bo’s school expenses. I know lots of people who read this book believe that Phobe is self absorbed, and all she thinks about is herself. But I don’t really think she is selfish,  she just wants to be noticed and not be treated like a perfect person who’ll never ever makes mistakes. Moving on to Bo. Reading this book felt like a punch in the gut. It was too painful to be inside Bo’s head. And as a reader, sometimes I couldn’t tell what true and isn’t, because Bo’s delusions felt too real to me too. And the whole thing about saving  Sofia felt like it was never going to end, because Bo was too invested in the idea that she was stuck in the Salem trials. It was really hard for Bo to believe that there was something wrong with him, because he refused to be helped so many times in the book. I know that I hated his father, but at the end, I realized that he was also coping with his son’s illness by his own way. To sum up my review, I really like books that tackle important topics like that, because there are lots of people who don’t know about mental illness disorders. When I finished reading the book, I read stories about people who had Dissociative disorder, and how they recovered and learned to control their illness. It was so inspiring, because most of the stories broke my heart and I can’t really imagine what it feels like to go through something like that. I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

