Shatter Me Series By Tahereh Mafie | Book Review

e57eae71267bdf738b4ac0754829c151

“Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.
No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.”

Hello, my bookish friends. Hope you’re doing well. Today I’m going to review the Shatter Me series, because it really holds a special place in my heart. It was the first dystopian series I read, and it really got me into reading. Two days ago I finished rereading Ignite me, and I had this bitter/sweet feeling, because it was like leaving my favorite world behind. Okay, I’m going to stop, and start my review.

This book is set in a futuristic/dystopian world, where everything is collapsing. This world is ruled by The Reestablishment, which is a government that aspires to transfer this world into a completely different one, by changing the language, the rules, and the way people live. When a girl named Juliette touched a little boy and he died, the government arrested her, and kept her in prison. But in fact, Juliette has a killer touch, so if she touches anyone, they’ll die from pain. She hasn’t communicated with anyone for more than two years. However, Juliette’s life takes a drastic change when the commander of sector 45, Warner, decides to get her out of prison, and train her to work for the government.

Can we just take an appreciation moment for Tahereh’s writing style? The flow of words is beautiful, rhythmic, and poetic. It’s like reading poetry, and I loved that. The characters development was so noticeable. Especially in Unravel Me, and Ignite Me. The first book starts with Juliette as the scared, and shattered girl who just thinks that death is the answer for her misery. But, when she meets Adam and talks with him, she falls in love with him because of his kindness. Personally, I think that she fell for Adam, because he was the first boy who ever talked to her, and helped her. I was totally against their relationship from the beginning, because there was something not right about them being together. I know that Warner has a destructive, heartless, and cruel personality. But oddly, I had a soft spot for him from the beginning. He’s one of those evil characters that you can’t help yourself not to admire. Maybe what I said sounds strange, but I knew there was some goodness inside of his twisted heart. There was one thing that I didn’t like about Juliette in the first book. She was thinking, and imagining a lot about how love feels like, and how would she feel if someone touched, and loved her for she is. I was like WAKE UP JULIETTE! DO YOU KNOW HOW POWERFUL YOU ARE! She was beyond CRINGY! But, when she went to Omega Point, she started to change and I liked that. Also, Can I have a friend like Kenji pleas? He really made me laugh. His sense of humor is catchy. Especially when he jokes about Juliette’s feelings, and she gets mad at him. He’s one of those characters that lighten up every situation for everyone. So, I’m going to talk more about Ignite me, because it was the best book in the series.  Juliette didn’t take it easy when Warner told her that Omega point was destroyed. She had to choose between two things, wallow in grief and sadness, or accept what happened and be strong. Of course she chose to be strong and work on strengthening her power with Warner. Even Kenji was astonished at how she completely became a new person with a clear mindset. Also, the fact that Juliette is finally with Warner made me so happy, because I waited so long for this moment. And the story of his mother and ruthless father broke my heart into pieces. That part of the book where he goes to see his mother and then Juliette comes inside and sees him sitting in the corner, because he’s just found out that his mother is dead! Poor Warner! So many awful things happened to him. Also, can we just talk about how obnoxious Adam was? I didn’t feel sorry for him! I was really mad at him like GET OVER IT! He liked the weak, kind, and obedient Juliette who always listens to him, but when she broke up with him, he was so mad at her that he wished she was dead. I honestly wanted to slap him in the face so bad! But Warner brought the best out of Juliette’s character, because he believes in her, and in her power. He encourages her all the time. The only thing I didn’t like about the book is the end. Because Anderson’s death was fast with no plot twist or anything. Other than that, the book is literally so thrilling, intense, and engaging. Seriously, if you haven’t read the Shatter me series yet, you’re missing out! So recommended.

Leave a Reply

