The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion | Book Review

666df58df55d304a4935201d8decaa92

Hello, my bookish friends. Hope you’re doing great. Well, I was supposed to have a hectic day full of work, but I got the day off, and the things that I need to get done are postponed for two days, so I guess the odds are in my favor today. So, I’m going to review The Rosie Project and The Rosie effect. Let’s start!

Don Tillman is a geneticist professor who has Asperger’s syndrome. He lives his life by specific routine, obsessed with planning, and scheduling everything in his life. When it comes to relationships, he’s never had a second date, and he hasn’t dated anyone in a long time. So, he decides to start ‘The Wife Project’ to find his perfect soul mate that is exactly like him. However, when he meets Rosie to help her find her biological father, he changes ‘The Wife Project’  to ‘The father project’ and along the journey of searching for her father, he can’t help himself not to like her. After finding his perfect soul mate for life, Rosie. Now he wants his life to be exciting and full of unpredictability. So, they decide to move to New York together. While he has a lot on his plate to deal with, Rosie surprises him with her sudden pregnancy that makes it hard for him to digest. However, Don will face some difficulties in preparing himself to be the perfect father for his child.

I have mixed emotions about those two books. I liked them, but I didn’t love them that much. The Rosie project started with Don as the narrator in an interesting way. He’s quirky, serious, and he has a sense of humor. And the way he always evaluates and plan for everything in his head is fascinating. But, when he met Rosie you could notice how complex for him it was to break his routine and try something different. Let’s talk about Rosie. She’s literally the opposite of Don’s character. She is confident, brilliant, and fierce. I think her character added something unique to the plot. The possibility of two incompatible people ending up together is what made me want to read the book till the end. I couldn’t put it down, because I was so engaged in the book. On the other hand, The Rosie Effect wasn’t as enjoyable as I thought it would. I couldn’t even finish it! The plot was repetitive, which made me feel so annoyed. I didn’t care about the other characters, or what happened to them. I just kept flipping the pages until I read the last page only, because yeah it was really that boring. However, if anyone asks me whether to read those books or not, I would tell them to read the first one only, because the second one is so disappointing.

Have you read The Rosie Project and The Rosie Effect?

I’d love to know your thoughts on those two books.

Leave a Reply

