Everyday by David Levithan| Book review

1a029c7a6aa6d93bf7ad3d4bd4f6e547

Before I go on and talk about the book I want to remind you all of something because I don’t want you to get majorly confused. The gender of the narrator is unspecified. We don’t know whether it’s a girl or a boy. So the narrator, which is the main character is called “A”, and I’m going to refer to it as “He” in my review of this book.

“I am a drifter, and as lonely as that can be, it is also remarkably freeing. I will never define myself in terms of anyone else. I will never feel the pressure of peers or the burden of parental expectation. I can view everyone as pieces of a whole, and focus on the whole, not the pieces. I have learned to observe, far better than most people observe. I am not blinded by the past or motivated by the future. I focus on the present because that is where I am destined to live.”

Can you imagine pretending to be a whole different person every day?

Can you live with the burden of hiding a heavy secret your entire life?

Could it be possible to fall in love with someone who has a new physical appearance every single day?

“A” wakes up every day in a different body, different gender, different town, and in a different life. The gender and the race of the main character “A” is unknown and always changing. The only constant thing is his age, which is sixteen.

“A” inhabits a different body each day, but he never inhabits a person’s body twice. When “A” wakes up in the morning, he has to figure out who he is, so he has the ability to access the memories of the person he’s inhabiting, whether it’s a girl or a boy, but not their emotions.” A” never gets so attached, too noticed, or interferes with their life course, or mess up their relationships or plans. “A” doesn’t have a slight idea about why his body has to shift from one person to another, or what the main purpose of having an inexplicable way of living. He has to be careful to not let the other people around him notice any change, otherwise he would compromise himself. He doesn’t have control over his life, or gets to decide or even make choices or take chances. “A” is an undefined creature. A floating soul without a body. Eventually, he surrenders to the facts, stops searching for an explanation, and learns to be at peace with himself.

Until one day, “A” wakes up in the body of a boy called Justin. When “A” meets Justin’s girlfriend Rhiannon, he feels an instant love spark from the first sight. From this moment his life takes a drastic transformation.  Justin is cold hearted, impetuous, and selfishly rude. He doesn’t appreciate Rhiannon or even respect her enough, even though she’s the one who always stick to his side and makes up excuses for his cruel behavior. “A” is used to inhabiting bodies since he was as little as he could remember. But he has never experienced this feeling. Beating the odds, Sometimes you, just click with a person immediately, It’s like You’re both destined to get to know each other, even if it’s uncertain how long it will last. Belonging. That’s what “A” has been feeling since he met Rhiannon. He craves to belong to her, have  endless conversations with her, and comfort her when she’s sad or need someone to talk to. The feeling to belong to someone has become overwhelming to “A”. Now there’s a reason to wake up every morning, there’s something to look forward to. As the story goes on, “A” feels a strong connection to Rhiannon. However,  “A” has to overcome many obstacles along the process of making the relationship work out between them both. He has to prove himself to Rhiannon, if he really believes he’s worthy of her.

This is the first book I read by David Levithan and definitely won’t be the last. What I admire about the book is that it contains many visual/emotional images. I can imagine the scene when I’m reading it without even trying to. David Levithan is a brilliant writer. He has his own way with expressing words that pull all of your deepest emotions. The vividness of his writing style makes you live the story through his captivating and gripping description of the tiniest details. I also like that we get to take a glimpse of each life and body “A” is inhabiting. Since the main character is a teenager, the book explores some common themes nowadays, that relate to most teens like drug abuse, obesity, and mental illness. The fact that “A” wakes up as someone else everyday is disheartening, because all those memories and yesterdays don’t belong to him. “A” is only meant to live in the present moment, so it’s really crucial for him to think of the future, or even consider it. Even though “A” has no body, hair, or facial features as a main character, he has a huge influence. I felt the presence of “A” throughout the events in the story, which is fascinating to a featureless character.

To be honest, I had some issues with this book. I expected it to be more creepy and mysterious, like a more thriller novel. The whole concept of this book is pretty intriguing. But, in the middle, I was disappointed, because it turned out into a love story, and the writer didn’t focus on the main character. Instead, he focused on the lives “A” is inhabiting. For me, I would’ve liked to know more about “A’s” life from a psychological/scientific perspective, and what goes through his mind. Also, I don’t really see what’s so special about Rhiannon. I didn’t buy the whole love story! I guess I wasn’t born with a romantic gene lol! She’s like any other random person, and I didn’t understand why is “A” obsessed with her. I wish the writer convinced us more about her uniqueness that caught “A’s” attention. Despite the cliffhanger ending that made me so confused and mad, it’s an emotional and thought provoking story that will literally make you curiously ask yourself questions about so many things. To sum up my whole review, if you want a fast paced novel that will blow your mind, you should read this book immediately.

“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”

Leave a Reply

